Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB

Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/)
-   Equipment Reviews (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/)
-   -   SIDI courier/SIDI combat touring boots (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/sidi-courier-sidi-combat-touring-5248)

DAVSATO 10 Feb 2003 00:44

SIDI courier/SIDI combat touring boots
 
like the look of both these boots. can i have some feedback please from anyone with experience of wearing them?
they must be;

1.durable
2.quick(5-10 seconds) and easy to get on/off
3.suitable for off road AND sports bike riding(not too rigid ankle)
4.reasonably comfortable for walking around in for half a day or so
5.splashproofish

comments for or against most appreciated.

if anybodys interested my current boots are 3yr old frank thomas aquas,they have been excellent all year round and they are very protective.all the above is catered for(when you screw some "blakeys" into the sole) except the walking bit, i find them a bit narrow in the foot.i would have another pair tomorrow except the newer ones are made in malasia or china or something, and they have no idea of a proper size foot/calf!!

------------------
dave

guiraud 26 Dec 2007 08:18

Aerostich Combat Touring Boots
 
Hello,

Any feedback as I'm quite interested in these boots, both the high and low models. Available in the UK or in Europe? Did you finally buy and if so how do you like them? Many thanks. I live in France....

Douglas

Flyingdoctor 26 Dec 2007 08:38

The couriers aren't waterproof but in the States they get the Sidi discovery which is the same style but waterproof. It would be nice if that version came here. I have some sealskinz waterproof socks which are superb but I need waterproof boots as I tour and camp a lot.

darby 27 Dec 2007 09:27

I've had both.
The combats are much tougher and it takes a lot longer to break them in but they are better boots.
Couriers/Discoverys feel pretty comfortable as soon as you put them on but I don't think they will last as long. I sold mine and returned to the combats.

RB

DAVSATO 27 Dec 2007 12:18

wow guys, this is a blast from the past, i started this thread nearly 5 years ago!!

in the end im glad i didnt go for the sidi boots, i bought a pair of hein gericke rally goretex boots and they are excellent, would well recommend them.
comfy for walking, good adjustment for thick socks, warm and dry but not too clumpy in the summer, and good protection (1st hand knowledge!)
and you can get spare parts for them too

jackass dave 13 Jan 2008 22:27

sidis
 
i have a pair of sidi couriers with a trials sole really comfy boots nice to walk in allthough do remember they are really motorbike boots and as such walking is not the main use , but they are preaty good ,and to date mine have been waterproof, i do treat them with a leather cream .on a regular basis, much more comfy than my old motocross boots

Bernard 13 Jan 2008 23:29

Sidi courier boots.
Beautiful and comfortable but not waterproof.

GSing 14 Jan 2008 00:22

SIDI Canyons. Warm and dry.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:59.


vB.Sponsors