Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB

Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/)
-   Equipment Reviews (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/)
-   -   Comfy gel seat pads.... (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/comfy-gel-seat-pads-22442)

Hutch 26 Jul 2006 20:54

Comfy gel seat pads....
 
Just wandered if anyone had cut up there seat and inserted some gel stuff like this....

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/PRESSURE-RELIE...QQcmdZViewItem


or perhaps done something similar?

Just thought it would be good to start a thread on the derriere which I'm sure everyone has had issues with at some point... :)

JonStobbs 26 Jul 2006 22:36

I saw something like these in a horsey type shop a year or so ago but didn't get one to try out as they were a bit steep at £60! This sounds much more like it.Anyone tried them yet?

Gregorius 26 Jul 2006 23:19

Did exactly that a couple of weeks ago on my KTM950S - those gel pads are in the 'raw' state and are very sticky at the edges. They are also shaped like a tractor seat and need trimming to fit an average enduro seat. I managed to trim and re-stick mine into a long rectangle shape. The suppliers recommend using cling-film or similar to seal the edges, indeed that's how it arrived with me but I don;t think that the film will be durable enough to take the use it's likely to get on these types of bikes. In my 'box of things going to be useful sometime...' I had some heat-sealing silicon rubber film which is normally used to seal and waterproof wheelchair seat cushions - no durability worries there then! Anyway, the re-trimmed and re-sealed gel-pad was ready to go on the seat pan.

I'd previously tried to soften the seat by drilling cores out of the appropriate area - this has been partially successful but was still not too comfy. I put the pad over the foam base, marked the outline and cut down about 20mm with a stanley (hobby) knife. I found then that I could simply 'pick' chunks of foam from the outline and soon had a reasonably smooth and even excavation. The gel-pad was a pretty good fit in the cut-out so I didn;t bother trying to stick it in or anything, just refitted the cover. So far the gel pad hasn't moved and doesn't look too bad - the outline is visible, but it's a small price to pay for a huuuuge increase in comfort!!

My invoice was a shade over £45.00 when postage and VAT was added, but with the reputation of the KTM factory gel seat being only marginally better than the wood-foam they use as standard I was happy to take the chance. It worked ..

Greg

Gregorius 26 Jul 2006 23:20

forgot to say..

The horsey ones are waay too thin and made of a different material. They come up pretty cheap on Ebay if you want to have a play, but the 'proper' gel-pad works well enough for me .

Greg

JonStobbs 27 Jul 2006 11:20

Thanks Greg! Glad i didn't press the "buy it now" button then.The silicone sealing film you had for wheelchair seats,any idea where i can get it? There's not many wheelchair shops out here in West Wales,but maybe i can find it on 'tinternet.

Gregorius 28 Jul 2006 00:46

Hi John ... try your local wheelchair clinic, not always attached to a hospital, although that's a good place to ask, or maybe ask at your GP's surgery.

HTH

Greg

Bossies 29 Sep 2006 11:39

If you are going to all that effort you might as well just get these for cheaper; £35. I'm thinking of getting it. Cheaper than the £90 to have the seat cut and filled with gel by customseats or one of those.

http://www.mandp.co.uk/productInfo.aspx?catRef=500687

Any experiences with these?

Mr. Ron 9 Oct 2006 23:42

I did a google search and came up with this product. http://www.geltechnology.com/
Looks promising, i may order some and try re-fitting my old GS seat. Together with a sheepskin it should make the days go by easier.

Mr. Ron 22 Oct 2006 08:01

Here's another link that looks even more promising:
http://www.knoplace.com/index.html

...oops, this sight apears to still be under construction, but he sells gel pads by the square inch on E-Bay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Kno-P...mZ170040796634

NorMas 17 Nov 2006 10:03

gelseat
 
hi hutch hope i'm not to late, i have just had my seat lowerd and gelpack fitted to my xt600e seat. very comphy it is to, the guy made a very good job of too. all for £75. if your still intresded give marty a call on 01904793232.:thumbup1:

Mr. Ron 27 Nov 2006 06:33

I just purchased one of the gel pads from the link above. I'll let you know how things work out.

ArcticHarleyMan 16 Dec 2006 20:15

I bought a gel pad for my wife's scoot. I priced one at the HD dealer. Well OVER $100 US. Went down the street to a bicycle shop. SAME thing, package, everything, including cover. $35.95 US.
So, check around at bicycle shops.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:57.


vB.Sponsors