Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB

Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/)
-   Which Bike? (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/which-bike/)
-   -   your opinion about taking a Honda xl200 or xr125l ! (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/which-bike/your-opinion-about-taking-honda-64100)

anaconda moto 5 May 2012 16:24

your opinion about taking a Honda xl200 or xr125l !
 
2 Attachment(s)
Attachment 6539

Attachment 6540

Hello people ,
As some might know the bike are very expensive here in South America.
So for the moment i am limited to a small bike.
So i know a big bike will do better but it is not a option.

I am planing a trip from Ecuador to Peru and maybe Bolivia,:funmeteryes:
and i like to know what people think about these 2 options that i have in mind.My first choice would be the xl200, it has a few things i do not like:
small tank ,no rear rack,so i think going slow that the xr125l is not so bad at all,but i am also going to ride in the mountains ,not sure if it will still be a nice ride??doh
And going on the xl200 i need to bring a jerrycan.
I am living here for a few years now so i am jused to the slower bikes.

xr125l xr200

Tank 12liter 8.5 liter
(350km.range) (200km.range)


rear rack yes no

hp 11 19?


O.k. people just like to know your optinion.

Saludos!!

anaconda moto 5 May 2012 16:58

Something in the layout went a bit wrong in the post above.
So i do it again.

Honda xl200: tank:8.5liter (200km.range) Hp:19 ,No rear rack.
Honda xr125l12liter (350km.range) Hp:11, standart rear rack.

Saludos.:tank:

palace15 5 May 2012 17:27

Without doubt I would choose the 125 :thumbup1:

anaconda moto 5 May 2012 19:21

Thanks,
the xr125l also has standart a kickstarter and electric starter here in Ecuador!:thumbup1:

anaconda moto 6 May 2012 13:03

O.k. it seems like not many people know about small cc motorbikes.
(650cc or 1200cc is more far more popular:mchappy: i guess)

Saludos.

AndyT 6 May 2012 18:38

I don't know if it is available in Ecuador, but I rented a CTX200 Honda in Guatemala. This bike has front and rear racks, still a small tank though. Intriguingly, it has side stands on both sides, which is surprisingly useful. I rode it up to maybe 2,500 meters elevation, and up a hill at that altitude, it would go maybe 50 kph. But you know that, as I assume you have ridden up the hill from Puyo to Banos. If you go into the high mountains of Peru, I would not want to be on the 125, given the choice.

estebangc 6 May 2012 20:13

I rode a XR 125 and it really lacked power, but I'm sure there it had a problem, otherwise it wouldn't sell that much being so slow (in comparison, a Bajaj Pulsar 150 looks like a Hayabusa). It wouldn't got any quicker than 85 km/h under any conditions (full throtle and with patience). Not that you need speed, just to show how it felt the one I rode. Sorry, cannot tell more... only it is quite tiny, like a trail bike on "scale", all the rest I liked it.

Both new and 2nd hand markets look pretty expensive in South America...

Buena suerte and happy rides on that beautiful trip!

Esteban

esville 6 May 2012 20:24

Hi there.
I left Peru on a Honda CGL125 at the end of February and i´m currently in El Salvador.
Uphill at altitude you´ll be going slowly, but so will everyone else. How much of a hurry are you in? The only time i`ve wanted something faster was on the coastal panamerica in Peru - but that was just a stupid choice of road.
I´ve got a 300km range and i´ve never come close to needing all of it.
Get on with it, you´ll have a great time - on either
Ian

anaconda moto 7 May 2012 01:47

2 Attachment(s)
Thanks guys,

The ctx200 is the same bike as the xl200,only the xl200 has no racks.
Its a real pity that the ctx is not sold here in Ecuador.Those racks
are so great on that bike.
Attachment 6563

I haven't had the chance to sit on the xr125.Is it really so small?
I a few reviews some tall people said that they liked it because it
was a bit bigger than other 125's.
And the saddle seems comfortable?
No matter what i will take ,it will be a blast:tank:!!!!

Still its nice from some professional feedback from you guys.:cowboy:

estebangc 7 May 2012 08:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by anaconda moto (Post 378098)
I haven't had the chance to sit on the xr125.Is it really so small?
I a few reviews some tall people said that they liked it because it
was a bit bigger than other 125's.
And the saddle seems comfortable?
No matter what i will take ,it will be a blast:tank:!!!!

A Yamaha DT 125 has small engine, but it is not small, but the XR is smaller (like a XT 125, if you've seen it). I'm 1,76 and enjoyed it's size, my feet really flat on the ground with my legs not fully extended. Not the case on my XT 600. Smaller size seems to me a nice advantage: so easy to handle, to lift it leans to one side while you are seating... as long as you are not very tall. May sound stupid, but it's kind of "cute". I'll try to find a photo with me on it (in the meantime, a picture right next to a CBF 125 on this thread).

I don't remember the saddle to be particularly unconfortable, not more than the XT, which I'd say is pretty unconfortable.

anaconda moto 8 May 2012 01:19

Hola,
Esville that's a interesting ride you make!
You keep a blog or something? Good luck man!!:thumbup1:

Estebangc ,i saw the picture!
Is the suspension on that xr125 a bit better then that chinese crap?
(that is the mane reason to take a little Honda and not a chinese bike i think!?)

Thanks

estebangc 8 May 2012 08:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by anaconda moto (Post 378210)
Hola,
Esville that's a interesting ride you make!
You keep a blog or something? Good luck man!!:thumbup1:

Estebangc ,i saw the picture!
Is the suspension on that xr125 a bit better then that chinese crap?
(that is the mane reason to take a little Honda and not a chinese bike i think!?)

Thanks

Upps, sorry, I messed it up and uploaded the picture in the other post you answered! Good you could see it. :thumbup1:

About suspension, I cannot tell you. I rode the XR only on good paved roads and I have never ridden a chinese bike to compare it. I'm no expert at all and wouldn't notice the difference unless it were very obvious. Overall, I guess the Honda will be more reliable. What about something in between, as a Bajaj Pulsar? Or will you travel often dirt roads?

anaconda moto 8 May 2012 12:47

:thumbup1:
Hola ,Bajaj Pulsar 220 is a great bike for its price.
Good on asphalt,can do gravel roads as well but its very low,and the
suspension hard.

The few Chinese bike i tried always had terrible suspension.
The fact that you did not notice the suspension on the xr is a good thing i think.
I like the xr125 the only reason i might go for the xl200 if the suspension i a lot better. Anyone knows about that?

Thanks.

floyd 13 May 2012 21:32

I have a XT 600 and tbh the power is ok. Its a heavy bike for the cc's. Saying that it will be able to carry a fair load.
I have read lots of stories on hear.
People going round the world on 125s, sym symbas, all manner of small bikes.
Even a guy taking a pistie bike from Aus to England.
Most have no money or are slightly looney tunes.
It could be the challenge.
If you want to use or have to use a small bike!
My opinion is to travel light, very light.
Bivvy, sleeping bag, puncture outfit and some clean undies.
It still will be a challenge

anaconda moto 14 May 2012 01:47

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks,

i think in Europe it is a bit more necessary to have a faster bike.
Here people take what they have ,and that is mostly no more then 200cc.
And here aren't a lot of high ways.
But i am sure to go travel light.:thumbup1:

Saw a other little bike the "yamaha xtz125" Attachment 6589only 100kilo's, that's 20 kilo lighter than the "xr125l", and 1hp more hahahaha.

Any thoughts on that one?

Saludos


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:54.


vB.Sponsors