Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB

Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/)
-   Honda Tech (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/honda-tech/)
-   -   Transalp V700 Opinion Please (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/honda-tech/transalp-v700-opinion-please-41995)

nsk11 7 Apr 2009 11:25

Transalp V700 Opinion Please
 
I want to buy a new bike. I came across a very clean almost new Transalp. Normally 70% of my rides are on tarmac and 30% on packed and unpacked gravel tracks. Can I buy lightly used transalp or brand new KLR650?

Thanks.:mchappy:

la fletche 8 Apr 2009 05:22

Don't hesitate to buy the Transalp. I have had mine for 4 months and I am very happy with the purchase. You don't hear of people complaining of Transalps that own them. If you do the majority of riding on road I would by far prefer the Transalp. Better power and more comfort. I do about 60% on road and the other half on some nasty dirt tracks mainly in my area of Western NSW. You will not be dissappointed with it I can assure you of that.

iainnic 30 Apr 2009 14:40

Yes - totally agree . I'm on my second having had a 650v for 4 years. The 700VA is a nice upgarde, and is more road boassed than the last.

dave401127 18 Nov 2010 05:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by nsk11 (Post 236701)
I want to buy a new bike. I came across a very clean almost new Transalp. Normally 70% of my rides are on tarmac and 30% on packed and unpacked gravel tracks. Can I buy lightly used transalp or brand new KLR650?

Thanks.:mchappy:

I`ve had my T/A 700 for a year now and no major problems . Went to France in summer and clocked 3000 miles with ease . Only niggles would be lack of a 6th gear for motorway riding and vibes at 4k revs although vibes gone with change from o/e tyres . Overall a much better bike than my previous BM850 .

Simon R 18 Nov 2010 20:02

I've had my 700V for 2 years now and it has run everyday without any problems. I have just done 27,000 kilometres across Russia and central Asia to Spain and it handled the dirt just as good as the tar, never missed a beat, and did the whole lot without having to change the chain and sprockets. I was impressed.

Simon

DAVSATO 20 Nov 2010 18:20

nsk11 did you get it and if so how are you getting on with it?
i had one as a courtesy bike for 2 days while my varadero was being serviced, found it more plasticky than im used to but a good solid ride, i wouldnt say no. can you get bigger tanks for it yet?

theborv 22 May 2011 02:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Simon R (Post 313026)
I've had my 700V for 2 years now and it has run everyday without any problems. I have just done 27,000 kilometres across Russia and central Asia to Spain and it handled the dirt just as good as the tar, never missed a beat, and did the whole lot without having to change the chain and sprockets. I was impressed.

Simon

did you go cat-less, or did you leave it on?

Tool 27 Nov 2011 16:32

mine's cat-less and i noticed a significant improvement in the bottom. generally believe that 700 is a very nice motorcycle. comfortable. i'm not afraid to drive it in the next year to mongolia :scooter:

ozhanu 16 Jan 2012 22:57

hi,

i am also looking for a bike and considering to buy a V700.

i have read the threads. however, i need more specific info.

- what kind of modifications does it need for daily use?
- what is the petrol consumption in motorways and in city?
- what kind of mods does it need for touring (not very hardcore tho)
- what about service intervals?
- how many km will it ride without a valve adjustment?
- is it easy to find aftermarket parts?
- what sort of spares does it needs for a month or two touring?
- how is vibration on the highways at around 120 km/h - or 75 mph?

any other cons/pros is appreciated.

uk_vette 7 May 2012 05:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by DAVSATO (Post 313234)
nsk11 did you get it and if so how are you getting on with it?
i had one as a courtesy bike for 2 days while my varadero was being serviced, found it more plasticky than im used to but a good solid ride, i wouldnt say no. can you get bigger tanks for it yet?

.
Hi Davsato,

I don't want to bring this great thread too much "off-topic" but I would like to hear you opinions on the 1000 Varadero.

I had been using my brothers year 2000 Africa Twin, (XVR750) for about a year, but wasn't that really impressed with it.
Sure it was good, but 80% or so of my ride was 2-up, on tarmac, good quality.
Then just now and then I would very carefully be on the gravel.

Where I felt let down with the AT was the cruising speed on the longer tarmac stretches.
I felt the AT a little underpowered, but still rather heavy.

Please tell me your feelings on the Varadero.
You may wish to start a new thread, and let this one get back on track. :)

vette


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14.


vB.Sponsors