Go Back   Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB > Equipment, Travel > Equipment Reviews

Equipment Reviews Post YOUR REVIEWS of ANY Motorcycle, Camping or Travel Equipment and accessories. Tell us what worked and didn't work for you!
Contact Overland Solutions for all your custom modifications and setup for overland travel.

Parts & accessories for adventure touring motorcycles including GPS mounts, panniers, luggage, protection, dry bags, camping gear, tools, books & DVDs.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23 Aug 2013
Registered Users
HUBB regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bristol
Posts: 66
X-Lite X551 Review

Hey people

We are manically trying to update our website (new one coming to make my life easier - currently we've abandoned our existing site because it's so diabolical back end! But updating still on www.facebook.com/chasinghorizons) In the meantime I thought I should post our reviews/thoughts and experiences of some of the equipment we've been riding with daily for the past few mon
ths!

Now taking a look at the ...
X-Lite X551


Helmet Category: Dual Sport Helmet
Price Range: Around £319 - £400





Features and Specs:

Inner VPS sun visor, Fog Resistant
Composite Fibre shell
Unitherm-Light inner lining
Adjustable/removable sun shield (Peak)
Innovative ventilation system
Three different outer shell measurements for the six available sizes
Prepared for the n-com X-Series communication system



Our Rating:

Visor (and inner visor): 8/10

Field of Vision: 6/10

Noise: 7/10

Fit and Comfort: Sam 7/10 Clare 6/10

Peak: 2/10

Vent: 7/10

Cleaning: 7/10

Strap: 7/10

Good Looking?: 5.5/10 

Pricing: 7/10

Overall Average: 6.3/10


Our thoughts:
The Visor: 
Starting with I think the top feature of the X Lite X551 helmet here… the visor and inner sun visor. They are simply top notch. The visor comes fitted with an easily adjustable pinlock which we have not had any issues with fogging despite some of the worst rains and cold mistiness to date. What we absolutely love is being able to flick down the inner sun visor as soon as the clouds part and the sun beams. It’s an awesome feature and saves all the faffing about with stopping, chucking on some sunnies, riding on, stopping again, taking them off and then squinting in glaring sunlight again five minutes later. The biggy problem I have with the inner sun visor though is the tab. Within the first month of wearing the helmet my tab had disappeared. I can still use the sun visor by pulling it down from the inside but for the price of the helmet… that shouldn’t have happened. Even so though, love the sun visor. Love love love it!

The Field of Vision:
The X Lite X551 is much more representative of a road helmet, particularly favouring a more enclosed feel and smaller field of vision. There’s no chance of being able to fit a pair of goggles in the space you have although when we’ve been riding in the dust we’ve had a tendency to open the visor up wide and throw down the sun visor to give us a bit of eye protection. Also it has a pretty awesome venting system so worst case scenario you can always shut down the visor and open all vents up which helps with some defence against dust.

Chinny Chin Chin and Venting:
Again, the helmet is much more like a road helmet than a motocross style so snugger in fitting right up to your chin. It has a removable chin-wind protector which we have taken out in the hotter weathers to stay cooler – super simple and very useful to have in on those cold, wet and windy days. All of the vents are adjustable and although the top ones can be a bit fidgety to open, especially if you have thick gloves on. Overall the venting is fairly good but because it is such a close fitting and enclosed helmet in the hot weather it can get toasty and sweaty betty. We also have the problem that we cannot quite comfortably fit our boom for our scala headset in to the helmet. It sits a little lower than it should because of all the padding and protection. Whether this is a Scala issue or a helmet issue though is debatable!

Noise:

It’s pretty darn quiet in there! We do not realise how loud our bikes are with the X Lite X551 on which is shocking because our bikes sure do make a heck of a noise! Listening to music or speaking to each other on the scala headset in is no problem, everything is crystal clear.

The Sizing/Fit and Comfort:
When you’re in, you’re in for sure and you sure do feel safe. Putting them on is not an easy feat though, it’s like being reborn but in reverse and then same again when you pop it off. I feel quite chipmunky in mine and the next size up was too loose but it’s beginning to have some give to it after a couple of months. In an ideal world it would be a little less cheek chewy for me. Sam on the other hand finds it incredibly comfortable and has no concerns. Maybe it’s my fault for having chubby cheeks. No more pies for me!! The sizes on the websites are pretty accurate – it’s how we ordered ours and they seemed pretty spot on (I was an inbetween size though frustratingly!). They are heavy helmets, I guess it has so many features and protection something has to give somewhere. Good thing is, if we get mugged we can knock out our robber by hurling it at them. Bonus!

Something definitely worth mentioning here is underneath the lining there is a set up for N-COM headsets which you can kind of fit the Scala sets in too. This makes com sets super easy to install and remove.

Cleaning:
Simple, easy, quick. Pop in and pop out sections. Can be a tad fiddly to get them back in.

Peak Performance:
This is where the X Lite X551 falls flat on its face. The peak… is diabolical… especially for the price. Flimsy and prone to cracking, both of ours are already displaying signs of ill health. That’s not the worst of it though… the peak is so low it actually scratches the visor when you lift it up. I’ve had to stick foam and electric tape under one of the screws to try and lift it a bit as well as tape up the top sections to prevent more scratching. We are truly disappointed in the peak. Such a shame :/

Strappage:
The chin straps are a D Lock and of reasonable comfort. They have an additional pop button on the strap so you can clip the loose end up to prevent it from slapping about in the wind which is a pretty standard feature.

Overall:
All in all the X Lite X551 offer up some superb features and you truly feel like if you were to have an accident your head would be in good hands. The visor which seems invincible to fogging up and the sun visor is just such an awesome feature, we really really love them for just that. They have some quality issues they need to address though, particularly the peak and also the paint job on the vents which are all peeling off Sam’s one now (although it does kind of look cool but some people would be proper grumpy about it and rightly so!). They are alright looking helmets… for me I feel like I look like a bobble head in it as they are HUGE! We’d say more ideal for road riding than off roading as it would get a little too toasty.



Any questions just let us know, we'd be more than happy to help out Will try and get some more close up pics of the features and post them up too!
__________________
Chasing Horizons Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24 Aug 2013
Registered Users
HUBB regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Essen
Posts: 28
Fitted a pair of Madhead goggles, no problemo. Cheers, Greg

Sent from my GT-I9100G
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Registered Users and/or Members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ferry Port Said (Egypt) to Iskenderum (Turkey) FULL REVIEW dstehouwer Sahara Travel Forum 20 16 Jul 2014 09:48
Utterly Idiotic Touratech Fuel bottles - a frank review s445203 Equipment Reviews 31 24 Mar 2013 00:21
Hard vs Soft Luggage - Our Metal Mule and Enduristan Review and Solution Pheebs Equipment Reviews 0 9 Feb 2013 09:18
Jacket Review, Revit Ventura GearChic Women's Topics 2 11 Nov 2012 19:45

 
 
 

NEW! HU 2015 Motorcycle Adventure Travel Calendar is now available! Get your copy now for some terrific travel inspiration!

HUGE, 11.5 x 16.5 inches, beautifully printed in Germany on top quality stock! Photos are the winning images from over 600 entries in the 9th Annual HU Photo Contest!

Horizons Unlimited 2015 Motorcycle Adventure Travel Calendar.

"The calendar is magnificent!"

"I just wanted to say how much I'm loving the new, larger calendar!"

We share the profit with the winning photographers. YOU could be in the HU Calendar too - enter here!


HU DVD Autumn Special!

Take 40% off Road Heroes Part 1 until October 31 only!

Road Heroes features tales of adventure, joy and sheer terror by veteran travellers Peter and Kay Forwood (193 countries two-up on a Harley); Dr. Greg Frazier (5 times RTW); Tiffany Coates (RTW solo female); and Rene Cormier (University of Gravel Roads).

The first in an exciting new series, Road Heroes features tales of adventure, joy and sheer terror by veteran travellers."Inspiring and hilarious!"

"I loved watching this DVD!"

"Lots of amazing stories and even more amazing photographs, it's great fun and very inspirational."

"Wonderful entertainment!"

Check it out at the HU Store! Remember to use Coupon Code 'HEROES' on your order when you checkout.



Scottoiler automatic chain oilers. The most important accessory for your next motorcycle adventure!


Renedian Adventures


Renedian Adventures

What others say about HU...

"I just wanted to say thanks for doing this and sharing so much with the rest of us." Dave, USA

"Your website is a mecca of valuable information and the DVD series is informative, entertaining, and inspiring! The new look of the website is very impressive, updated and catchy. Thank you so very much!" Jennifer, Canada

"...Great site. Keep up the good work." Murray and Carmen, Australia

"We just finished a 7 month 22,000+ mile scouting trip from Alaska to the bottom of Chile and I can't tell you how many times we referred to your site for help. From how to adjust your valves, to where to stay in the back country of Peru. Horizons Unlimited was a key player in our success. Motorcycle enthusiasts from around the world are in debt to your services." Alaska Riders

contest pic

10th Annual HU Travellers Photo Contest is on now! This is an opportunity for YOU to show us your best photos and win prizes!

NEW! HU 2014 Adventure Travel T-shirts! are now available in several colors! Be the first kid on your block to have them! New lower prices on synths!

HU 2014 T-shirts now in!

Check out the new Gildan Performance cotton-feel t-shirt - 100% poly, feels like soft cotton!


What turns you on to motorcycle travel?


Global Rescue, WORLDwide evacuation services for EVERYONE

Global Rescue is the premier provider of medical, security and evacuation services worldwide and is the only company that will come to you, wherever you are, and evacuate you to your home hospital of choice. Additionally, Global Rescue places no restrictions on country of citizenship - all nationalities are eligible to sign-up!


New to Horizons Unlimited?

New to motorcycle travelling? New to the HU site? Confused? Too many options? It's really very simple - just 4 easy steps!

Horizons Unlimited was founded in 1997 by Grant and Susan Johnson following their journey around the world on a BMW R80 G/S motorcycle.

Susan and Grant Johnson Read more about Grant & Susan's story

Membership - help keep us going!

Horizons Unlimited is not a big multi-national company, just two people who love motorcycle travel and have grown what started as a hobby in 1997 into a full time job (usually 8-10 hours per day and 7 days a week) and a labour of love. To keep it going and a roof over our heads, we run events (22 this year!); we sell inspirational and informative DVDs; we have a few selected advertisers; and we make a small amount from memberships.

You don't have to be a Member to come to an HU meeting, access the website, the HUBB or to receive the e-zine. What you get for your membership contribution is our sincere gratitude, good karma and knowing that you're helping to keep the motorcycle travel dream alive. Contributing Members and Gold Members do get additional features on the HUBB. Here's a list of all the Member benefits on the HUBB.


Books & DVDs

amazon

All the best travel books and videos listed and often reviewed on HU's famous Books page. Check it out and get great travel books from all over the world.


Motorcycle Express for shipping and insurance!

Motorcycle Express

MC Air Shipping, (uncrated) USA / Canada / Europe and other areas. Be sure to say "Horizons Unlimited" to get your $25 discount on Shipping!
Insurance - see: For foreigners traveling in US and Canada and for Americans and Canadians traveling in other countries, then mail it to MC Express and get your HU $15 discount!




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:57.