Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB

Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/)
-   Equipment Reviews (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/)
-   -   seat vibrat on long journey (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/seat-vibrat-on-long-journey-27184)

ahkeong_m 18 May 2007 17:17

seat vibrat on long journey
 
Hi

Currently i am riding on honda CB400SF, the bike is well perform when under 100km/h, but when higher than it, there is little vibration from engine transfer to the seat and then to my ass.

Even though for short journey (below 50km), i still can take it, but when go long journey, my ass is quite 'cramp' due to the vibration.

Anyone encounter this problem before?

ahkeong_m 21 May 2007 17:00

anybody has idea how to solve this problem?

BruceP 21 May 2007 18:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by ahkeong_m (Post 136802)
Hi

Currently i am riding on honda CB400SF, the bike is well perform when under 100km/h, but when higher than it, there is little vibration from engine transfer to the seat and then to my ass.

Even though for short journey (below 50km), i still can take it, but when go long journey, my ass is quite 'cramp' due to the vibration.

Anyone encounter this problem before?

Try adding a new seat with Gel pad inserts, or add an external gel pad.

mollydog 22 May 2007 04:22

I am not familiar with this bike so you'll just have to improvise.

ahkeong_m 22 May 2007 05:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by mollydog (Post 137122)

Have you thought of changing gearing? (smaller rear sprocket?)


any reason that changing to smaller rear sprocket can reduce the vibration?

Walkabout 22 May 2007 09:57

Inline 4 cyl
 
Change the teeth and the engine will run at different revs for the same road speed so you will not feel the vibes (or you will feel vibes of a different frequency!).

Anyway, that's what riding is about surely? - your bike is an inline 4 cyl, correct? (sf = super four?), and they should be pretty smooth overall - try a single if you want to experience a really vibey bike and you will then appreciate how smooth your bike engine is.

You can always stand up on the pegs for short periods to let the blood flow again!

Dave

ahkeong_m 23 May 2007 11:13

i used to ride 1 cyclinde bike, where it is really suck. I know my current four cyclinder is run pretty smooth comoared to previous one, but still wish to have the 'best' comfort tour with the little adjustment/modification

Bill Ryder 23 May 2007 14:51

Vibration
 
Check all your motor mount bolts for tightness. Sometimes yu have to loosen them and then tighten them properly. I have had loose motor mount bolts cause wierd vibrations. Have your seat reupholstered with different foam, it can really make a difference. Try just laying some foam on the seat and riding the bike to see which makes a difference then take that foam to a shop that does upholstery and have them use that foam to modify the seat.

mollydog 23 May 2007 18:59

Great advice Bill.

ahkeong_m 31 May 2007 17:46

guys, i have order the hydran bike seat cushion from ebay. Will try it out see the condition later. Hopefully it may provide a wonderful riding experience


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:52.


vB.Sponsors