Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB

Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/)
-   Equipment Reviews (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/)
-   -   Rechargeable Batteries. (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/rechargeable-batteries-65285)

djorob 15 Jul 2012 22:55

Rechargeable Batteries.
 
Having tried quiet a few of the major and not so major brands I have found what appears to be the longest lasting rechargeable batteries I have used.
They are called Powerex by Maha.
I use mainly AA and AAA and this brand out last others 2-3 times over.
Just FYI.
Dave.

Senno 16 Jul 2012 02:14

Where do you buy them from mate? I'm always looking for decent rechargeables

bobn 16 Jul 2012 16:00

You may like to checkout this test from the Gadget Show.

The Gadget Show | Top 5 - Rechargeable Batteries video from The Gadget Show

Cheers

Bob

djorob 16 Jul 2012 21:39

Maplin stock them and you can find them on ebay too.
Dave.

Senno 16 Jul 2012 22:12

Thanks mate, will check them out :)

Boxer2V 27 May 2013 22:41

Re: Good Rechargeable batteries-update
 
I know this is a very old post but thought it a good idea to update since there are now some better batteries available.

I was prompted to look around after buying a Fujifilm camera which uses AA batteries. I was very disappointed when I discovered that the camera could get through a normal 'budget' battery within minutes. I then tried some rechargeable Energizers which worked slightly better but didn't last very long.

Eventually, I was put onto the Sony Eneloop batteries and was amazed that my camera is now useable and lasted a few days without a recharge.

The Eneloop batteries are the ONLY ones able to keep my Flip Ultra HD Cam going for the full two hours capacity.

They are widely available and I got mine on eBay.

HTH.

Ian.

photographicsafaris 21 Oct 2013 23:57

SANYO eneloop batteries
 
After years of every type of battery I could, I have finally settled on the Sanyo eneloop XXX AA batteries, I am also using their aaa batteries for my head torches
This comes from using them in Flash guns and various Garmin devices from the colds up Kilimanjaro throughout the heat of Turkana and hiking three days through snow in the middle of winter.

Wouldnt consider anything else.

markharf 22 Oct 2013 00:23

Panasonic brand, at least here in the States. They bought out Sanyo, the original developer of the eneloop batteries.

Older NiMH batteries still carry higher amp-hour ratings, but it's no longer clear to me what that means in light of the eneloop's slower self-discharge rates.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:28.


vB.Sponsors