Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB

Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/)
-   Equipment Reviews (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/)
-   -   Big Gun Exhaust - do not recommend! (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/big-gun-exhaust-do-not-24152)

Camus 14 Nov 2006 08:54

Big Gun Exhaust - do not recommend!
 
A buddy of mine had some problems with a Big Gun exhaust that he had installed on his KLR650. Basically, the system fell apart on a week-long trip. The muffler wasn't that old either. Seems as if there may be some quality issues with Big Gun exhausts.

See this site:

http://biggunexhaust-test.com

mollydog 15 Nov 2006 02:33

Loud Pipes Blow!
 
use the stock pipe and be happy....and stealthy.

Stephano 15 Nov 2006 06:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by mollydog
dumb moto kids and morons who don't have
a clue.

Loud exhaust pipes are annoying but Big Gun manufactures performance exhaust systems aiming to improve a bike’s power. Their web site makes that clear since most of their news and company background centres on race results and achievements. They possibly are louder than other systems just as a racing car is louder than one used for general travel. They also sell quiet core inserts to meet noise level requirements.

Furthermore, their exhausts are significantly lighter than most original systems.

I don’t know about their current quality issues but I will stick up for ‘moto kids’ if they ride responsibly. Do you have something against other forms of motorcycle riding, Patrick?
Stephan

mollydog 15 Nov 2006 07:35

. Loud pipes PISS PEOPLE OFF......period.

beat_ 15 Nov 2006 18:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by mollydog
Stephano, where are you from? I have no idea where SarJah is. I think you may be out of touch regarding the impact loud pipes have in all areas of
motorcycling, especially in California, which is the center of the recreational motorcycling world in some ways.

bloody yanks, they always think the world turns around them:gunsmilie:









:oops2:why don't we have a clown smiley?

mollydog 15 Nov 2006 19:35

If you knew what we have here in Cali, you'd understand why some of us
are so defensive about our riding areas and our sport.

Grant Johnson 15 Nov 2006 22:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by beat_

:oops2:why don't we have a clown smiley?

Please find me one! :)

ct_miller13 16 Nov 2006 00:36

Photo's
 
Nice pic's Mollydog. Now I have to clean the drool off my keyboard.

beat_ 17 Nov 2006 16:26

@ mollydog
http://www.motor-forum.nl/forum/imag.../worshippy.gifhttp://www.motor-forum.nl/forum/imag.../worshippy.gif sweet i wonder what the cheapest way of getting there is...

@ Grant
does this do the trick? http://www.motor-forum.nl/forum/imag...lies/clown.gif

mollydog 17 Nov 2006 17:16

Cheers, Welcome to California, Now Go Home!

Patrick:scooter:

ct_miller13 17 Nov 2006 19:57

So Cal
 
Hey mollydog, I appreciate the offer for info.

Many thanks,
Charlie

beat_ 18 Nov 2006 13:04

i have once driven from Washington DC to LA, but that was all on tarmac
and indeed i should go to the USA atleast once more. i mean i havn't seen my familie in houston texas and richmond virginia in .. since 1997 so that's almost 10 years

dunno what the "burning man festival" is but hey we got google over here as wel :biggrin:

drew-at-large 14 Jan 2007 18:31

Loud pipes do piss people off often... except at race tracks it seems... and can potentially ruin some sweet riding areas. Riding off trail is also a problem... at least in many parts of the US and Europe. Right now, I'm sure someone is thinking to a "Beat" of a different tune... "bloody westerns, they always think the world turns around them."

Just like many parts of Europe, the many places in the states have rules on the sound of a pipe. Another point of concern besides the US Forestery Service's rule of pipes under 96db (if I remember right) -- and many state park's 94db --, is the use a spark arrestor for all pipes since forest fires rains on everyone's parade and potentially cause the lost of life. I would imagine there are some pipes running around without them and that concerns me.

WRT choice in pipes, as long as they comply with the rules governing acceptable sound levels (country/federal (i.e., Germany, US Forestry Service, etc.), state/province (i.e., California, NM, etc.), county, and city/township law(s) and have the spark arrestor (if required like with the USFS), I say --IMHO-- let them buy whatever pipe tickles their fancy. If it is junk, they'll find out the one way or another.

~Drew

P.S., Beat, In the states, often people in other parts of the US say the equivalent of "bloody yanks" to people specifically from California and New York. :lol2: While it is not the center of rec riding, you must admit it is definitely one of the bigger designated areas around. :thumbup1: In fact, the area he's talking about is bigger than some countries! It appears bigger than NL -- but with not as many people as the most densely populated country in Europe. :smartass: Perhaps the cheapest way is to sign-up as a hand with some merchant vessel and negotiate the passage of the bike for free -- along with a little pay. Any money you make while crossing the pond could help to finance your travels...:scooter: Just a thought .:eek2:


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:11.


vB.Sponsors