Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB

Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/)
-   Equipment Reviews (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/)
-   -   Best design for aluminium boxes? (http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/equipment-reviews/best-design-for-aluminium-boxes-5337)

Simon Kennedy 5 Apr 2004 01:36

Best design for aluminium boxes?
 
It seems that bike luggage box design has reached its limits. The Jesse design, (reflected in the new UK outfit Projectvnd) seems the best. The boxes have beveled edges for lean-angle and for paddling. They are custom made to fit best to maximise space and minimise width. They are 2mm. The racks work, and are strong. All good, and miles ahead of the overpriced TTech. So is there anything more that can done?

I ask cos I am in the process of building some for myself.

AliBaba 5 Apr 2004 01:45

When it comes to Jesse I will not say the rack is strong, I have welded mine several times (10-15) and it’s now rebuild so it works (it didn’t even fit my bike). I have had no luck in ordering parts for the system, in fact I’ve had no luck getting in touch with Jesse at all the last years.

The locks broke and the mechanism for locking the boxes to the frame also broke, the new system looks even weaker, but other then that the boxes are nice….

Simon Kennedy 6 Apr 2004 09:43

That is a shame, because the design of the boxes looks very good.

I met an overlander recently who has gone halfway around the world with Jesse luggage.
He complained of the new combined handle-lock system. "Too flimsey" he said. He has added proper locks.

What part of the rack broke? Where is the point of weakness?

AliBaba 6 Apr 2004 19:49

Check this:

http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/ubb...ML/000189.html


Cameron 28 Apr 2004 03:58

Simon, What kind of bike are you putting the boxes on? I built my own for a bmw r80rt and they (luckily) turned out well. Email if you would like some info. Cheers, Peter

Simon Kennedy 29 Apr 2004 23:53

I am riding a Transalp.

I am just completing a set of boxes for it. Having looked long and hard at all the boxes on offer, I am absolutely certain I can do better. Each one has a weakness or two.

It is worth baring in mind that many manufacturers, despite what their publicity says, are building for the gentle European touring market. Not overlanders. That is why the Touratech ones are so shockingly poor for the money.

The ultimate overlander boxes are only days away...

DAVSATO 30 Apr 2004 00:14

im not impressed with the ali boxes that come with the 1150GS adventure(and cost so much!!) they seem not very well made and too small.i dont think you will get a full-face helmet in any of them. the new 1200GS has expandable plastic boxes as accessories, ive not had a close look at them but its a good idea and looks quite neat. has anyone had a close look? maybe an idea for any of you DIY fans?

------------------
dave

Lucky Explorer 30 Apr 2004 20:14

I have used Jesse's for years, have crashed badly on them and no damage-infact they act as a crashbar due to their design strength. In China last year in an accident, one was crushed and subsequently repaired and it never leaked. Never damage to the frame system, and never has the frame failed. If you want to spend a dime call them:623-878-7113 USA, and get the parts needed to replace anything they make. They are a busy company but do respond.I don't know how their overseas distributors operate however.
Allen.

liketoride2 13 May 2004 08:08

I can recommend Happy Trails rack and pannier setup. I don't know how they compare with Jesses, but they are certainly stronger than Touratechs (I've had both). They're at www.happy-trail.com. The customer service is also outstanding, in my experience.

Mike
Idaho

Dream Catcher 19 May 2004 03:07

The new R1200 GS panniers?! Mmmmm. I see them for show and not much else. Sure they are nice and square now with neat little bags. But the mechanism for them to widen is a gimmick. The mechanism itself takes up valuable space and I'm always dubious about moving bits, which wear and can break. Stick to the ali panniers, whatever the make.

[This message has been edited by Dream Catcher (edited 18 May 2004).]

Dream Catcher 19 May 2004 03:39

OOoops. One other thing on aluminium panniers. New outfit in the UK called Metal Mule. www.metalmule.com. Riveted boxes with "QuickAttach" system.

mcdarbyfeast 19 May 2004 05:36

I had the Touratech boxes and pannier frames made by Erni at Overland Solutions. The bike fell over a number of times and even with all the weight of the bike and our luggage there was no damage to the boxes or the frames. Because the Boxes were fitted slghtly lower than with the original frames there was no damage to the bike either.

Cameron 21 May 2004 00:16

Remember not to make your pannier support frames too strong... or "when" you fall over the bike frame may break and your luggage will be intact.
I used the original bmw pannier frames on my R80RT, which are silver soldered (not welded) they withstand vibration better and will bend or break BEFORE the bike frame does.

They have survived two stationary fall overs and two low speed crashes...so far

The boxes are basically like jesse's but with flat, unhinged removable tops.
Cheers

ricardo kuhn 13 Jun 2004 06:50

Quote:

Originally posted by Simon Kennedy:
It seems that bike luggage box design has reached its limits. The Jesse design, (reflected in the new UK outfit Projectvnd) seems the best. The boxes have beveled edges for lean-angle and for paddling. They are custom made to fit best to maximise space and minimise width. They are 2mm. The racks work, and are strong. All good, and miles ahead of the overpriced TTech. So is there anything more that can done?

I ask cos I am in the process of building some for myself.

I use to think the same until I saw this
http://patineto.smugmug.com/gallery/108392
Roger the guy that makes them is not only a pretty good designer but a extremlly skillfull fabricator

take a look at this link on ADVrider to learn a little more about them
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...highlight=mamf

he custom makes them for anybike,all hand made

i hope this helps


JimG 3 Jul 2004 19:17

I can thoroughly recommend Metal Mule panniers. They are a result of many years of travelling revealing the good and bad points of luggage and designed to be as tough as old boots. Fast attach system, optional extras to suit individual needs and being waterproof are just a few bonuses with this set up. Have a look at www.metalmule.com
Jim


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:29.


vB.Sponsors