Go Back   Horizons Unlimited - The HUBB > Equipment, Travel > Equipment Reviews

Equipment Reviews Post YOUR REVIEWS of ANY Motorcycle, Camping or Travel Equipment and accessories. Tell us what worked and didn't work for you!
Contact Overland Solutions for all your custom modifications and setup for overland travel.

Parts & accessories for adventure touring motorcycles including GPS mounts, panniers, luggage, protection, dry bags, camping gear, tools, books & DVDs.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23 Aug 2013
Registered Users
HUBB regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bristol
Posts: 66
Airoh S4 Review - Ride through Europe and Africa

Hey people

We are manically trying to update our website (new one coming to make my life easier - currently we've abandoned our existing site because it's so diabolical back end! But updating still on www.facebook.com/chasinghorizons) In the meantime I thought I should post our reviews/thoughts and experiences of some of the equipment we've been riding with daily for the past 9 months!

First up...

Airoh S4

Helmet Category: Airoh classifies this helmet as “Off Road”
Price Range: Around £80.00



Features and Specs:
Road Legal
Airoh S4 Visor with antiscratch treatment both inside and outside
COOLMAX inner liner with height transpiring netting inserts
Removable and washable inner liner
Removable and washable cheek pads
Helmet quick release retention system
Painted and UV-coated Outer shell
Front air intake
Chin guard air intake
Side spoiler and air extractors
Upper spoiler
Removable peak
ACU Gold Stamped
Weight 1370 +/- 50 grms


Our Rating:
Visor: 5/10 (Sam) and 6/10 (Clare) (let down by the lack of pinlock!)

Field of Vision: 7/10

Noise: 3/10

Fit and Comfort: 7/10

Venting: 5/10

Peak: 6/10

Cleaning: 2/10 

Strap: 6/10

Good Looking?: 6/10 

Pricing: 9/10

Overall Average: 5.7/10 … although dragged down massively by the cleaning and noise!

Our thoughts:
The Visor: 
Specifically chosen for our ride from the UK down to the Southern most tip of Africa we picked these up at a neat price of £80.00 each – bargonious in our opinion! With a variety of features the Airoh S4 tends to lend itself more towards the styling of a motocross helmet, but also has the incredibly attractive feature of a removable visor. Being able to utilise this for additional wind and weather protection for the colder rides through Europe in snowy and torrential rains of December as well as some of the surprisingly chilly days in North Africa and then again when we hit the rainy seasons in Kenya, it proved to be an absolute God send. The visor itself doesn’t come with a pinlock so initially we thought it might be a bright idea to have one installed to help with steaming up issues but to be frank, by our second encounter with a rainy downpour the seal on the pinlocks had popped loose and we were in fog central! Instead we just whipped them out (a Shoei pinlock so perhaps not the perfect fit) and cracked the visor. This… worked tip top! Water didn’t really seep in and our visors stayed nice and clear. That was the nice thing with the visor. It was fairly smooth and easily adjustable by a good sized left hand tab by small nudges yet it held it’s positioning and didn’t slip once you were happy with where it was at. As for the antiscratch treatment, I was always a bit weary of this and figured it was some kind of fluffy extras they said it had to fatten up the specs. However! We had these visors quite literally rammed in the top of my rucksack wrapped in merely a headscarf and up against foodstuffs and all kinds of daily items I pulled in and out for a good few months and yet there were minimal scratches on them when we eventually reattached them. Pretty impressive, especially considering they were being hurled in and out of tents, lent against, endured a couple of tumbles and heavy vibrations against other bits in the backpack when riding ruggered terrains and my general clumsiness!

The Field of Vision:
Despite the Airoh S4 being feature bias towards a motocross style helmet, the field of vision is nearing a couple of inches smaller than your average motocross helmet. Saying that, it certainly has a much wider view than your bog standard full face road one. Sam was absolutely fine when picking goggles to fit his as he had the larger sized S4, however, I had to be a little bit more selective with the smaller helmet and ended up being restricted to a pair of small sized Oakleys which fitted but very snugly. Most others had a tendency to pull away from my face or pinch my nose so from where they were squished in! Something to consider if you’re looking at sizing up to a smaller S4 and want to wear goggles with them.

The Sizing/Fit, Cleaning and Comfort:
Speaking of sizes, the Airoh suggested sizes were spot on for us. For 8 months we wore the helmets comfortably and daily through some rather extreme conditions (minus temperatures and snow to 55 degree celicius heat) and although the inner padding did start to loosen slightly it was not to any raised concern. The lining should really have been fully detachable but it was incredibly awkward and a complete and utter pain to get back in. Not only that but because of our scala headset system they were partially glued in making it even more of a toughy to pull out without yanking all the cables along with it. We managed to clean them a couple of times but in essence they ended up getting a bit scummy by the end and after we had removed the headsets the linings were so fluffed up by the glue we couldn’t really justify paying for them to be shipped back to the UK and ended up disposing of the helmets. To be fair, we were time pressured when tearing out the headsets so not as delicate as we could have been and the helmets had by far done their due and have probably encountered a few knocks to justify their final ousting! So if you do have any kind of headset you would like to fit they’re not particularly headset friendly and very fiddly! Taking time and patience it can be done… but cleaning?! Pain in the buttocks we say!

On the plus side these helmets are very light weight. Not light enough for you to wonder whether you’d be better off with bubble wrap as safety on your head but light in a comfortable way! They also do look pretty cool too. We had the matt black versions so spruced them up with a few stickers but overall a reasonable looking helmet.

Noise:
*KRRRRRRRRRRrrrrrrcccRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRCCCCccccccccCC CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCChh HHHHHOOOooOOooOooOOO WWWWWWWOOOOOOO AAAAaaaaaAHHHHHHHHHH PbbtttFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFt*. I think that kind of sums up this section. It’s blooming noisy!

Chinny Chin Chin and Venting:
Now, because they have a larger chin space like a motocross helmet and a permanently open vent system, we managed to stay very cool and aerated in those hot sticky countries but naturally when it was wet and cold we had to be sure have thick neck scarfs on to prevent icey cold winds and water intruding and giving us snotty wet noses! The vents didn’t seem to have any leakage in water wise though which is always a plus.

Peak Performance:
Reference the peak, it was easily and fully adjustable and super handy in the scorching sunny days. Yes, it did mean on those windy days we would get a bit of drag and pull but never enough for us to warrant stopping and taking them off. This is partially due to protection from our motorbike fairing though. They’re not like your super strength top end £500 helmet peaks, but were strong enough to endure our lugging about and accidental knocks.

Strappage:
The chin straps are a clip lock type mechanism which certainly made it easy for quickly whipping your helmet on and off at borders or when greeting people. We never had any problems with wearing of the teeth on the lock or it coming loose but Sam still favours the D Lock system if he has a choice.

Overall:
All in all they are very light, comfortable and a phenomenal quality for their price. I think the word we keep using for them is “decent” – they satisfied everything we needed them to. Ideal for those warmer climates and green laning fun!



If you guys and girls have any questions do let us know Always willing to help out!


__________________
Chasing Horizons Facebook
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 Registered Users and/or Members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Africa Call, a solo trip around Africa and Europe isaac.feliu Ride Tales 26 31 Jan 2014 00:11
Europe to South Africa - May 2013 electro Travellers Seeking Travellers 8 22 Apr 2013 12:48
Eastern Russia to Europe, then Africa - starting June 2013 ish NYLon2000 Travellers Seeking Travellers 5 22 Apr 2013 04:43
Foriegn registered 4x4s in Africa and Europe. Bundubasher 4WD for Sale / Wanted 2 5 Jan 2012 16:35
Europe - West Africa - Cape Town - East Africa - Asia- Europe simonkring Travellers Seeking Travellers 3 18 Nov 2011 23:52

 
 


HU DVD Summer Special!

Now that summer is here, get On the Road! Take 30% off the Achievable Dream - On the Road! 2-DVD set until August 31 only. Get On the Road! Learn the tips to staying healthy, happy and secure on your motorcycle adventure!

Our veteran travellers share their tips (and great stories) for staying healthy, happy and secure on your motorcycle adventure.

"A fantastic, informative and inspirational DVD."

"It's brilliant - thank you very much!"

Check it out at the HU Store! Remember to use Coupon Code 'ONTHEROAD' on your order when you checkout.


Renedian Adventures


Renedian Adventures

What others say about HU...

"I just wanted to say thanks for doing this and sharing so much with the rest of us." Dave, USA

"Your website is a mecca of valuable information and the DVD series is informative, entertaining, and inspiring! The new look of the website is very impressive, updated and catchy. Thank you so very much!" Jennifer, Canada

"...Great site. Keep up the good work." Murray and Carmen, Australia

"We just finished a 7 month 22,000+ mile scouting trip from Alaska to the bottom of Chile and I can't tell you how many times we referred to your site for help. From how to adjust your valves, to where to stay in the back country of Peru. Horizons Unlimited was a key player in our success. Motorcycle enthusiasts from around the world are in debt to your services." Alaska Riders

contest pic

10th Annual HU Travellers Photo Contest is on now! This is an opportunity for YOU to show us your best photos and win prizes!

NEW! HU 2014 Adventure Travel T-shirts! are now available in several colors! Be the first kid on your block to have them! New lower prices on synths!

HU 2014 T-shirts now in!

Check out the new Gildan Performance cotton-feel t-shirt - 100% poly, feels like soft cotton!


What turns you on to motorcycle travel?


Global Rescue, WORLDwide evacuation services for EVERYONE

Global Rescue is the premier provider of medical, security and evacuation services worldwide and is the only company that will come to you, wherever you are, and evacuate you to your home hospital of choice. Additionally, Global Rescue places no restrictions on country of citizenship - all nationalities are eligible to sign-up!


New to Horizons Unlimited?

New to motorcycle travelling? New to the HU site? Confused? Too many options? It's really very simple - just 4 easy steps!

Horizons Unlimited was founded in 1997 by Grant and Susan Johnson following their journey around the world on a BMW R80 G/S motorcycle.

Susan and Grant Johnson Read more about Grant & Susan's story

Membership - help keep us going!

Horizons Unlimited is not a big multi-national company, just two people who love motorcycle travel and have grown what started as a hobby in 1997 into a full time job (usually 8-10 hours per day and 7 days a week) and a labour of love. To keep it going and a roof over our heads, we run events (22 this year!); we sell inspirational and informative DVDs; we have a few selected advertisers; and we make a small amount from memberships.

You don't have to be a Member to come to an HU meeting, access the website, the HUBB or to receive the e-zine. What you get for your membership contribution is our sincere gratitude, good karma and knowing that you're helping to keep the motorcycle travel dream alive. Contributing Members and Gold Members do get additional features on the HUBB. Here's a list of all the Member benefits on the HUBB.


Books & DVDs

amazon

All the best travel books and videos listed and often reviewed on HU's famous Books page. Check it out and get great travel books from all over the world.


Motorcycle Express for shipping and insurance!

Motorcycle Express

MC Air Shipping, (uncrated) USA / Canada / Europe and other areas. Be sure to say "Horizons Unlimited" to get your $25 discount on Shipping!
Insurance - see: For foreigners traveling in US and Canada and for Americans and Canadians traveling in other countries, then mail it to MC Express and get your HU $15 discount!




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:13.